How does your garden grow?

I’ve been thinking a lot about professional development lately.  Mostly because I’m working on a proposal with 2 former library school classmates for our state library association conference that takes place in October.

Before I started working as an instruction librarian, I was already working in higher education and was aware of how important professional development can be. I had attended a couple of conferences as a student and had a presentation accepted for a state conference shortly after I finished my master’s and before I had started my current job.

Sadly, I have to admit that I got a bit cynical about professional development not long after beginning my job. I read a few blog posts here and there that lamented the poor quality of conference presentations and this colored my view of what professional development is and should be.

But lately, I’ve been changing my mind. I realize that presentation style is important, but sometimes I feel like the emphasis on being a great presenter takes away from the purpose of doing a presentation in the first place. Presentations and articles are meant to inform our colleagues about developments in our field. I’ve heard laments that research in the field of library science is lacking, which makes me want to focus even more on the content of my presentations rather than bells and whistles.

I recently presented a paper at an interdisciplinary conference about how my experience at ACRL’s Immersion Program changed the way I approach library instruction. The call for proposals described the presentation as a “paper,” which I thought I would be reading. Instead, the first day, I noticed most presenters were being more interactive, so the night before my presentation, I reviewed the main points of what I’d written and delivered my paper as a short talk. What surprised me about this was that I wasn’t upset that I’d spent time writing a 9 page paper that turned into a talk. What I learned from this was that the process of trying to explain my professional experiences to others helped me put these experiences in context for my own growth as a librarian and a teacher. The same is true for a recent co-presentation I did at REFolution where Russell Palmer and I talked about how student workers fit into the the information commons model many libraries now have. This presentation was highly interactive, and the comments and reactions from our audience helped me to consider new ways to approach the research I’m doing in this area.

So, what I’m realizing about professional development is that it is less about bells and whistles and really about my growth as a professional. What I present and write about is as important as how I present the information. While I hope in time to become an engaging speaker and presenter, I hope even more that my professional development activities help me to grow as a librarian, writer, and teacher.

About nouveaulibrarian
I'm an Instruction Librarian at a small state school interested in exploring new ways to promote information literacy.

Leave a Reply

